PCC Page

The parochial church council (PCC) is the executive committee of Saint Mary Our Lady, Sidlesham. Legally the council is responsible for the financial affairs of St Mary's and the maintenance of its assets, such as the church and church hall, but the council also acts as a focus for church affairs in the parish.

PCCs were set by the Parochial Church Councils (Powers) Measure 1921 Act as a successor to the Vestry or Vestry Meetings, which had had their civil functions removed during the nineteenth century in numerous acts, concluding in 1894 with the establishment of civil parishes. The subsequent 1956 and 1969 Acts now govern the establishment and function of PCCs.

Members of St Mary's PCC are elected at the parish AGM. A list of the current members of St Mary's PCC can be found on the "Contact Us" page.

At St Mary's we have a PCC meeting approximately every three months and it is usually held in the church.

Friday, 24 April 2015

Annual Parochial Church Meeting

The APCM was held in church on 29th March and thirty parishioners attended. Father Stephen recalled some of the highlights of 2014 and remembered those faithful worshipers who passed away during the year. He also thanked all those who work so hard for St Mary's and for it's ministry.
The meeting received the Annual Report of the work of the PCC and the Financial Report for 2014. Copies of these reports are available in church for anyone who was unable to attend the meeting.

Dr Lesley Bromley, Mrs Joanna Chivers-Gibbs and Mrs Beverley Hughes will continue as the Deanery Synod representatives for the laity of our parish for the coming year and Janet Harland and Chris Field were re-elected as churchwardens.

The members of the PCC for 2015-16 will be-

Bryan Bone, Gill Cook, Michael Fowler, John Graves, Louisa Robson, Beryl Rodd, Alan Sheldrick, Andrew Swain, Jenny Trimble, and Sally Vinnicombe.

Sidespeople for the coming year were appointed and Kevin Coppard was appointed Independent Examiner for 2015.

The new PCC appointed Michael Fowler as Treasurer for the coming year.

No comments :

Post a Comment